Trekking


Last week I went to my co-workers to Szilvasvarad for a trekking at the National park of Bukk. It was a sort of team building and we choose this place because it is close to Budapest, nice green area, waterfalls and lakes and on top of that (literally) there is a big cave where ancients lived.

We went up hill by a little train leaving from the parking area at the entrance of the park. This train was built more than 100 years ago due to the coal production at that area. More than 40 families lived at that area that time and worked on the production of coal and other products from the forest/wood.

There is a small open air museum with signs in Hungarian and English.

The area also is full of lakes build by that time to be used as reservoir for drinking water and for the local consumption of the families.

Later these people moved down hill to the village called Szilvasvarad.

There was a very nice guide with us who told us all sort of stories for more than 2 hours. He was very enthusiastic about his job and everybody liked him.

The way back was a nice and easy trekking, actually more like a walking because it was in nice path walk, but no less interesting because of it. There were other waterfalls, springs, little rivers all the way long.

Also they produce trouts there and there is a kiosk where you can buy smoked or grilled fish.

At the end, there are some restaurants with typical Hungarian food and some souvenir shops. But if you want more adventure, there is also a bob (slide). We haven’t tried, but it looks very interesting for a sunny day!

(the pictures I´ll post later)

  1. #1 by Estela on May 10, 2013 - 12:32 pm

    Hi Graziela!!! I was missing your adventures. Surely, I went with all of you and, in mind, I could feel the wind, smell and sights so naturally of this pleasant trekking.
    Give us more…
    See you

    • #2 by grazielaa on May 10, 2013 - 5:27 pm

      Thanks Estela! I was missing my blog also, but now I am back to HUngary after a long trip and I will post lots of new things! 😉

    • #3 by grazielaa on May 11, 2013 - 7:02 pm

      I will upload the pictures soon. They are in my phone and I need more time to upload them… you know, I am not a “tech” person, it takes time 😉

Leave a Reply

great hungarian plain

a Seattleite teaching university in eastern Hungary

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

JoV's Book Pyramid

Books is my addiction, I seek no cure

Internationally Unrelated

Just international stuff

