ABBA? No, I´d rather Neoton Familia


One of the first bands I liked in Hungary was Neoton Família.

The song Santa Maria was the one first to ring the bell. I already knew that song from disco parties in Brazil, the English version, so how could I guess that it was in fact a Hungarian Band behind?

Yes, I thought maybe it was ABBA´s. I was always a fan of ABBA and disco/flash back parties, but more I learned the Neoton Familia songs, more the ABBA was placed in the past and more I liked the Neoton Familia! The energy, the 70´s style and the rhythm, not the same, but as good as ABBA! And I felt in love.

Other song made me happy also like Don Quijote and then Kétszazhúsz Felett.

But the top one, the favorite in HUngary I guess once it has been still playing in the radio is Holnap Hajnalig. This song is special and a classical in Hungary, hope you like it:

I am sure that during the 70´s, a disco party in Hungary was as fun as any other of the same style in the Western world. Neoton Familia is the proof!

  1. #1 by Juliana on January 19, 2013 - 5:42 pm

    I am confused: Are they singing in hungarian or chinese?

    • #2 by grazielaa on January 19, 2013 - 9:10 pm

      The video was made in Japan but they are singing in Hungarian. Can´t you recognize it? 😉

Leave a Reply

great hungarian plain

a Seattleite teaching university in eastern Hungary

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

JoV's Book Pyramid

Books is my addiction, I seek no cure

Internationally Unrelated

Just international stuff

